fbpx
royan

Royan

Emblematic seaside resort of the department of Charente Maritime, 8 kms from the campsite Tahiti Village " La Grande Côte ", 1 km from campsite Tahiti Village " La Grande Côte " in Saint Palais sur mer, one of the most beautiful campsites around Royan. The small town charms its visitors with the beauty of its fine sandy beaches, the charm of its port and the elegance of its Belle Époque villas.

Royan in a few words

When you think of Royan, you think of :

  • its many beautiful beaches, conches of fine sand which follow one another on the Atlantic coast: first these small creeks with a crazy charm (Chay, Conseil, Foncillon, Pigeonnier, Pontaillac with its famous Casino), and the big Conche in the city center
  • its famous central market in the shape of a shell (seen from the sky)
  • its Belle Epoque and Art Deco architecture: all styles are mixed together
  • its port and its ferry to cross the estuary or a departure to visit the Cordouan lighthouse

Royan sea side

Royan is above all its seafront and the Atlantic Ocean. The coastline of Royan offers lovers of idleness, swimming and water sports 5 beaches with different atmospheres: the Grande Conche for the pleasures of swimming and sailing, Pontaillac for surfing, or Le Pigeonnier, le Chay and Foncillon for the intimacy and charm of small conches. In the heart of the resort, the port invites you to stroll around: you can relax on a terrace, admire the pleasure boats and watch the return of the fishing boats. From the port of Royan, cruise ships leave for the Gironde estuary: an ideal opportunity to admire the Cordouan lighthouse from the water.

Royan city side

City of Art and History, Royan charms for the heterogeneous architectures of its buildings, between Belle Époque seaside villas and buildings of the 50's inspired by the Brazilian urban architecture. In the center of Royan, the districts of the Park and Pontaillac, typical sectors of the end of the 19th century and the Roaring Twenties, are full of beautiful residences. Among the most elegant are the villa Kosiki and the villa Castel mon Rêve, both located on the Parc side. In the old market of Pontaillac, the Royan museum retraces the history of the city and in particular its post-war reconstruction period, from which its avant-garde architectures date. There is also the Palais des Congrès.

Activities and entertainment in Royan

Take advantage of your camping vacations in Royan to fill up on activities. Outdoor activities are king here: in addition to water sports and beach games, you can take advantage of the Vélodyssée bicycle path that runs along the coast, tennis courts facing the sea, horseback riding, or the 18-hole golf course. Thrill seekers can fly over Royan from the airfield and then parachute over the estuary. For relaxation, you can opt for the treatments and rituals offered at the thalassotherapy institute, or spend an entertaining moment at the casino. Very lively all year round, Royan offers a rich cultural and festive program during the summer, with for example the symphonic music festival "Un Violon sur le sable" which takes place at the end of July on the Grande Conche beach, or the great fireworks festival on August 15.

The Royan Atlantique agglomeration has all the assets for a successful vacation in New Aquitaine in the former Poitou Charente region.

Discover the official website of Royan

https://www.royanatlantique.fr/vacances-charentes/destinations/royan

fbpx
royan

Royan

Station balnéaire emblématique du département de la Charente Maritime à 8 kms du camping Tahiti Village « La Grande Côte », Royan charme ses visiteurs par la beauté de ses plages de sable fin, le charme de son port et l’élégance de ses villas Belle Époque.

Royan en quelques mots

Quand on pense à Royan, on pense à :

  • ses nombreuses belles plages, conches de sable fin qui se succèdent sur la côte atlantique : d’abord ces petites criques au charme fou (Chay, Conseil, Foncillon, Pigeonnier, Pontaillac avec son fameux Casino), et la grande Conche en centre ville
  • son célèbre marché central en forme de coquillage (vue du ciel)
  • son architecture Belle époque et art déco : tous les styles se mélangent
  • son port et son bac pour traverser l’estuaire ou un départ pour partir visiter le Phare de Cordouan

Royan côté mer

Royan c’est avant tout son front de mer et l’océan atlantique. Le littoral royannais offre aux amateurs de farniente, de baignades et de sports nautiques 5 plages aux ambiances différentes : la Grande Conche pour les plaisirs de la baignade et de la voile, Pontaillac pour le surf, ou encore Le Pigeonnier, le Chay et Foncillon pour l’intimité et le charme des petites conches. Au cœur de la station, le port invite à la flânerie : on s’y détend à une terrasse, on y admire les bateaux de plaisance et on y assiste au retour des bateaux de pêche. Du port de Royan partent aussi les navires des compagnies de croisières sur l’estuaire de la Gironde : une occasion idéale pour admirer depuis l’eau le grand phare de Cordouan.

Royan côté ville

Ville d’Art et d’Histoire, Royan charme pour les architectures hétéroclites de ses édifices, entre villas balnéaires Belle Époque et bâtiments des années 50 inspirés de l’architecture urbaine brésilienne. Dans le centre ville de Royan, les quartiers du Parc et de Pontaillac, secteurs typiques de la fin du 19e siècle et des années folles, recèlent de très belles demeures. Parmi les plus élégantes figurent la villa Kosiki et la villa Castel mon Rêve, toutes deux situées du côté du Parc. Dans l’ancien marché de Pontaillac, le musée de Royan retrace l’histoire de la ville et notamment sa période de reconstruction d’après-guerre, dont datent ses architectures d’avant-garde. On y trouve également le palais des congrès.

Activités et animations à Royan

Profitez de vos vacances camping à Royan pour faire le plein d’activités. Les loisirs de plein air y sont rois : en plus des sports nautiques et des jeux de plage, on peut y profiter de la piste cyclable de la Vélodyssée qui longe le littoral, des terrains de tennis face à la mer, des balades équestres, ou du parcours de golf 18 trous. Les amateurs de sensations fortes pourront survoler Royan au départ de l’aérodrome puis sauter en parachute au-dessus de l’estuaire. Pour la détente, vous pouvez opter pour les soins et rituels proposés à l’institut de thalassothérapie, ou passer un moment divertissant au casino. Très animée toute l’année, Royan propose enfin en période estivale une riche programmation culturelle et festive, avec par exemple le festival de musique symphonique « Un Violon sur le sable » qui se déroule fin juillet sur la plage de la Grande Conche, ou encore le grand festival pyrotechnique du 15 août.

L’agglomération Royan Atlantique possède tous les atouts pour des vacances réussies en Nouvelle Aquitaine dans l’ancienne région Poitou Charente.

Découvrez le site officiel de Royan

https://www.royanatlantique.fr/vacances-charentes/destinations/royan